Falling Off the Wagon, Getting Back On

I’ve let myself get a little lax with the Paleo lately. First it was wings and stromboli and chocolate cake for the Super Bowl. Then it was a chicken salad sandwich at a diner with a friend from out of town this weekend. I’m feeling the effects of the gluten and cheese, and I know I need to just be more strict about what I put into my body. 

This morning, for breakfast, I had a tart cherry juice smoothie. I added one cup of juice to one cup of almond milk, plus one banana and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries. So good! The frozen blueberries meant I didn’t have to add ice, which I loved because I hate the noise my blender makes when it crunches ice. 

For snack this afternoon I ate a fuji apple with 2 tablespoons of almond butter. 

For lunch, I meandered over to the campus dining hall for some good conversations and people watching. I had a spinach salad with cucumbers, red bell peppers, olives, edamame, and grilled chicken, drizzled with oil and vinegar. 

For the rest of the day, I have some grilled chicken leftovers, some mixed berries, and half a baked potato. I’ll be able to eat these snacks throughout the afternoon, and hopefully stave off any hunger that might sneak it’s way in. 

Dinner tonight will be spaghetti squash with lean ground beef and Paleo-friendly spaghetti sauce. You have to be careful with sauce because a lot of them have soy, or gluten, or other non-Paleo friendly things. You guys, my mouth is watering as I type this. I’m so excited for dinner. Already. And I just had lunch. Oh well. 

All this to say, I’ve planned my day out very specifically. I avoided the sandwich line and the cupcakes and the grilled cheese in the dining hall. I’m prepared with snacks for throughout the day. I have a full nalgene with iced water next to me. I can get through this day, this week, this month, and I know I’ll see results at the end of it. 

Here’s to getting back on! 

Leave a Reply

