Why Paleo?

I have been overweight my entire life. I have also been an athlete my entire life. I played soccer as a little kid, began swimming in high school, and I was recruited to swim and play soccer in college. Although I ended up just swimming in college, I did pick up volleyball my senior year. Four years of varsity college athletics meant hours in the weight room, hours honing skills, and hours sweating with my teammates. But I have always been overweight. And I’ve struggled with it, and I’ve beat myself up for it, and I’m tired of it.

I hit my rock bottom in the parking lot of a Weight Watchers. I am a repeat Weight Watcher, but I’ve never lost more than 30 pounds. I had been traveling for work and I thought I had been doing well. I got on the scale and had gained 6 pounds in the two weeks since I had last weighed in. I sat through half of the meeting, fighting back tears, half listening to the yippy, way too loud, older woman who lost 20 pounds 20 years ago, until I finally just walked out. I called my mom, sobbed into the phone for about twenty minutes, and quite frankly, didn’t know how to move on. At that moment I knew I would be okay eventually, but I had to tell myself it was okay that I was upset. I knew this wasn’t the end of the world, but I gave myself permission to think it was pretty damn close. I wallowed in self-pity for the rest of the day, trying to eat healthy, but giving in to hopelessness just a tad.

The next morning I woke up feeling much better, just like I knew I would. I had been researching Paleo online and found several delicious-looking recipes on pinterest. Paleo is a lifestyle meant to mimic how our ancestors ate. The diet is based on the fact that agricultural techniques hadn’t been invented yet. Cavemen ate meat, vegetables, and fruit. That’s it. Nothing else. The modern Paleo diet consists of a strict elimination of dairy, grains, sugars, and legumes. No milk. No chocolate cake. No beans. No soy. No hummus. No ice cream. No flour. Get the idea?

But yes meat. Yes vegetables. Yes fruits. Yes delicious, wholesome, goodforyou food. It makes sense to me. According to weight watchers, the only foods that “costs” points are meat, dairy, grains, sugars, and legumes. Everything else is “free.” It makes sense to me that the foods that cost zero points, or the foods Weight Watchers wants me to eat most of, are the best for me. So, I figured I’d give it a try.

The pros: It’s a focused, wholesome, straightforward program.
The cons: It will definitely take planning. And NO ICE CREAM?!

I can live without ice cream. In fact, I have even found a recipe for sweet potato ice cream (?!?!?!). I’ve been trying this now for a few weeks and I’ve finally got a hang of it. I’m starting this blog to help chronicle my journey, gather recipes, and help me track my progress. If I can motivate someone to try Paleo in the process, that’s even better.

I have a few goals for this blog.
1. Track my progress, both with weight loss and eating habits
2. Find and share recipes I’ve tried (or want to try)
3. Find and share other Paleo resources
4. Track my fitness evolution

So, here we go!

Leave a Reply

